New drywall makes everything brand new.  However, I have two pieces of advice for those hiring out drywall work.  #1.  Be crystal clear about your expectations for clean up. The drywaller had asked me if they should do anything special to “protect” the floors.  I said no, that they floors were cheap and were going to go.  When they loaded up and split, they left the biggest damn mess you ever saw.  They did not vaccuum.  They did not sweep. Nothing.  They left all that cleaning to a 8-month pregnant woman.  I NEVER said, “Oh, shit no!  Don’t clean up the floor!” I’m actually still mad.  They were not invited back to do the basement kitchen, nor will they be invited back to do any other work.  Ok, I’m done kvetching.

Where was I?  Ah, yes.  #2.  Make double sure that you put all your outlet and switch boxes at the correct depth.  If you don’t, a few unsightly and annoying results – idiot contractors won’t say anything, but they will dremel all around them so the drywall fits… and then just try to put on a switch or outlet cover.  Impossible.

And #3.  I know I said two, but I thought of another one.  Ask to see their work in a house somewhere.  If you can clearly see their seams, you might as well do it yourself.  Find another contractor.  Do not look too closely in my basement, please.  I have strategically placed art and furniture…

Anyway, here are some dreamy pictures of new drywall.

IMG_3504
Southwest corner of basement bedroom. New closet doorway!
IMG_3503
Laundry, laundry… bum, bum, bum-ba-bum-bum!
IMG_3502
Hallway, laundry door on the left, bedroom doorway straight ahead.
IMG_3501
Same as above, different angle.

Before the drywall went up in the family room, Don took down the bulky and inefficient fluorescent T-12 fixtures and put up recessed can fixtures.  This dramatically improved the visual height of the 7-ft ceilings.

IMG_3505
Northeast corner of basement. Note our recessed lighting… a must have for low ceilings.